File Monster completely erases files from your system -- actually overwriting the information in the file so it can not be recovered. The reason information is still available when you delete files with normal deletion methods is because normal deletion methods only tell the operating system to not recognize the file as being present anymore, yet the information hasn't really been erased. As a result, anyone with a little knowledge of computers can very easily recover the information you thought was erased.
VERY EASY TO USE
You can delete one or more files or entire directory structures by simply navigating and marking those files and/or folders. See the screen shot for more details.
ERASE PESKY HIDDEN FILES
To take your privacy a step further, File Monster also overwrites the original file name with a random name and it changes the file's creation date. Moreover, it can even erase pesky hidden files, system files, and read-only files.
DELETE IT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!
Don't leave sensitive data on your computer: deleted files are the first place many computer savvy people will look when they are trying to discover sensitive information on your computer. Some important questions you have to consider:
When you delete files is the information in those files something you want just anyone to have access to?
When you leave your office at night, just who has access to your computer? How much access do IT people where you work have to your computer?
Do you trust that neighbor that comes over to your house to use or fix your computer? How about your roommate?
Do you trust the people you give your computer to when maintenance is needed?
- 2MB RAM
- 1MB Hard Disk